Who are our candidates for election?

Who are our Lib Dem candidates to vote for in the General Election on 12th December? We've created a contacts page, so you can offer your help. Your prospective MPs

Arun District, and Arun Liberal Democrats, overlaps three Westminster Parliamentary Constituencies; Bognor Regis & Littlehampton, Worthing West and Arundel & South Downs. Your potential MPs at the general election on 12th December are:


Francis Oppler

Bognor Regis & Littlehampton constituency

Francis was first elected as a Councillor in 1989, since then he has had the privilege to serve twice as Bognor Regis town mayor. He is currently a Councillor on Arun District and West Sussex County Councils. Francis has always represented Orchard Ward and Bognor Regis East.

Francis has been involved in many campaigns over the years. Recently he has been involved in campaigning against the thousands of houses proposed for Bersted and Pagham in the Conservative-developed Local Plan, believing that Bognor Regis has already taken the 'lions share' of development and that the town cannot cope with thousands more houses.

Francis is Deputy Leader of Arun District Council and Cabinet Member for Corporate Support.

Arun District Council - Orchard ward - Term ends 2023
West Sussex County Council - Bognor Regis East Division - Term ends 2021

Telephone: 07887 893509
E-mail: francisoppler@gmail.com


Jamie Bennett

Worthing West constituency

Jamie was first elected on to Rustington Parish Council in November 2009. Jamie was Chairman on the Parish Council from May 2017 - May 2019. Jamie was elected to represent Rustington West Ward on Arun District Council in May 2019. He has lived in Rustington since 2007 with his wife Jo who was born in Rustington and they have a son Elliott. He is currently employed by Whitbread PLC as a Multi Site Hotel Manager for Premier Inn. Jamie feels that young people should be more interested and have a say in what happens in their community.

Jamie has been Chair of the Development Control Committee at Arun District Council since May 2019.

Rustington Parish Council - Term ends 2023
Arun District Council - Rustington West ward - Term ends 2023

Telephone: 07702 383465
E-mail: cllr.jamie.bennett@arun.gov.uk


Alison Bennett

Arundel & South Downs constituency

Alison Bennett

Alison, who has lived in the constituency since 2012, has been active in the local community since moving to Sussex, and has volunteered at the local children's football club, her local school, and the West Sussex County Council's Children & Family Service. She campaigned passionately for Remain in Hassocks and Hurstpierpoint and was integral to recent Lib Dem electoral success in both County and District elections.

Alison was elected to Mid Sussex District Council in May 2019.

Mid Sussex District Council - Hurstpierpoint & Downs ward - Term ends 2023

Telephone: 07544 016733
E-mail: alisonbennettld@gmail.com



Share this post on social media: